DID YOU KNOW?
More than 25% of all car drivers were involved in car accidents in a five year period.
The majority of auto accident injury victims are the drivers, then the passengers of the car, followed by pedestrians, and lastly cyclists.
It would be rare for someone living a normal life to not be in an automobile accident as a driver or a passenger.
The PIP 14-Day Rule for auto accidents in Florida is unforgiving.
The personal injury protection (PIP) law in Florida was adopted in 1972. This law was introduced to make sure that if you are a victim of an auto accident and you have sustained some injuries, you will be covered for the treatment of the injuries.Today, the law is very specific in such that the victim of an accident can only seek the medical services from licensed medical physicians. The medical providers allowed to provide treatment include a osteopath, a physician, dentist or registered nurse practitioner. The victim of the accident can be declared to have suffered from an emergency medical condition and must be given immediate medical assistance.
The rule means that the insured must receive medical care within 14 days after the Florida auto accident or personal injury benefits are void. If you have been involved in an accident then you fail to seek medical assistance within the stipulated time, you will not benefit from PIP coverage for any medical benefits. In a nut shell, the rule has helped many victims of motor accidents taking into consideration that being involved in such accidents is stressful. We all know how sometimes insurance policies can be very complicated. The PIP cover does not cover general type of treatment. Those who wish to go for holistic medical services are not covered by the law. The EMC is given if the patient has suffered from severe injuries, has an impaired body or when some organs are dysfunctional. If the victim visits a chiropractor, he or she can is limited to $2,500 and provided after reference from a medical health care.
The treatment must be documented as a proof of the actual treatment. Since Florida is a no-fault insurance state, the driver’s insurance company must cover the medical expenses of $10,000 irrespective of whose was at fault in case of emergency medical treatment. Once the $10,000 insurance cover is exhausted, then a claim can now be made to the party that was at fault at the time of the auto accident. Initially, the pip law didn’t have such a requirement making it easy for the insurance company to dispute the treatment in relation to the auto accident.